Orlando

Goodwill hunting – Back-to-School Shopping!

Someone must have heard of my love of thrift stores because I was asked by the Goodwill Industries of Central Florida to enjoy $25 for each of my boys to go on a back-to-school shopping spree at any of their several Central FL locations. Uh, I said, yes!!

waterford1  goodwill5

Goodwills are what they call, “one of the good ones”. They are like the Nordstrom of thrift stores. They are clean, organized and there is always a sale going on. Ha! For instance, anything marked with a certain color tag is 50% off for that day. I love that they not only have a large selection of clothes, but also toys, furniture, decor and more. I love a good deal and I never feel like I’m going to get in trouble when I get home after shopping there, hahaha!

One of the fun parts of our back-to-school shopping/thrifting experience was letting the boys do a little care-free shopping of their own. They picked out a few items that I normally would probably say no to because I’m not about to pay $25 for a Skylander/cartoon shirt. But what do ya know, there happened to be two brand new Skylander shirts in Alec and in Dean’s sizes for $3.99  and $2.99, they were happy, I was happy, everybody won! Thank you, Goodwill!

waterord3waterford2

We ended up checking out the Waterford and Winter Garden locations. The Waterford location was awesome. Its a fairly new location and the store is large and open and they had a nice fitting room right off the kids department, where the boys enjoyed trying on their “Skylander” shirts. They also have quite a large book department that I will have to come back and check out on my own time and dime. The Winter Garden location is closer to home and I was able to find a few more pieces there and a nice man told me to go check out the Clermont location next, because they have better Kid clothes there, hee hee. So as you can see the people are friendly and willing to help a mother out.

waterford4

So how successful was I? Well, I found 19 shirts, 4 shorts and 1 light zipper jacket. Amazing, right!!! I was pretty excited that I everything I picked was in practically new condition and from brands such as… Lacoste, The Children’s Place, Vans, American Apparel, Gymboree, Reebok, Easton, Target Brand and Osh Kosh! Overall, I am pretty thrilled with my haul and all for the price of …

goodwill3goodwill4 goodwillgoodwill2

only $63!!! I still have $12 more to use, but to be honest and I’m a little overwhelmed with all the clothes I bought. Ha! But I do need a few more shorts for the boys, so I will be checking out the Clermont store next (Thanks for the tip, Mr.!!).

I also planned ahead and went through my boys entire closets before doing my #goodwillbacktoschool shopping so I was also pretty excited to be able to make a large donation of clothes, shoes and other items back to the Goodwill. Showing my boys how to donate and to care about others in their community was definitely a big bonus to all the money I saved! Supporting your local Goodwill helps your wallet and creates more local jobs in our community.

GREAT NEWS!!! Thanks to the Goodwill Industries of Central Florida I will also be doing a giveaway of $25 to one of you lucky readers! So please head on over to https://www.facebook.com/orlandomommy for you chance to win!

Read more below on how you can send your kids back to school in style – and help your community at the same time! It’s as easy as 1, 2, 3, 4:

GDW-Hashtag-Banner

1.     Donate last year’s school clothes to Goodwill.
2.     Pick up some fresh threads for the upcoming school year.
3.     Keep your wallet happy by not spending a lot.
4.     Help create a job for someone in your community.

Donations (and shopping!) equal jobs … and jobs change lives!
· Donating and shopping at Goodwill funds job training and placement programs that help Central Floridians with barriers to employment. This includes people who have disabilities, those with limited work history, military veterans transitioning to civilian jobs and others.
· Every 24 pounds of donations provides one person with services that can help them find meaningful work. Last year alone, Goodwill served nearly 33,000 people in its Job Connection Centers across Central Florida!
· With convenient drop-off sites and dozens of stores in neighborhoods near you, it’s easy to make a donation … and to make a lasting impact in your community. To find a location near you, visit www.goodwillcfl.org.

Donations RESIZED

Standard

One thought on “Goodwill hunting – Back-to-School Shopping!

  1. This is awesome. I can’t believe how much clothes you got. My kids grow out of their clothes so quickly and we always donate it to Goodwill.

Leave a Reply

